Council Sub Committees

The ESFA Council consists of 16 elected members, an FA representative, a Premier League representative and an independent member. Council are also able to co-opt additional members for a specific purpose.

Each of these members serves on one of three committees, which are structured around the Association’s primary functions –

National Competitions Committee

Committee Members (Council) 2022/23

Chair and region Tony James, North 
North Tony James, Ian Latte
Mids Nick Loftus,
SEDave Woollaston, Paul Jackson 
SW Mike Coyne, Gavin Rusling
Independent Sion Portman 
Staff support Darren Alcock, Sarah Kearney 

Representative Football Committee

Committee Members (Council) 2022-23

Chair and region Alan Johnston, North 
North Richy Alderson, Alan Johnston 
Mids Mark Hignett 
SE Phil Harding 
SW Dave Burns
Independent John Duncan, Peter Clayton 
Staff support Andrea Chilton

Development Committee

Committee Members (Council) 2022-23

Chair and region Gavin Rusling, South West 
North Tony James,
Mids Nick Loftus
SE Dave Woollaston, Paul Jackson 
SW Gavin Rusling, Mike Coyne,
Independent Sion Portman 
Staff support Dan Smith

Governance Committee

Committee Members (Council) 2022-23

Chair and region Peter Clayton, Independent (The FA) 
North Alan Johnston, Richy Alderson
Mids Mark Hignett 
SE Phil Harding, 
SW Dave Burns,  
Independent John Duncan, Peter Clayton
Staff support Joe Marsh